top of page
  • L D Neal

The Three Lenses: Post-Lens Results - 10/12/2018

Original writing can be found on page 22 of the black sketchbook.


What I learned/discovered from putting my game through the Three Lenses, and how my idea was refined.


Beauty and art direction/level design


Although the human body is unappealing to look at, I am combating this by focusing on the many colours inside the body.

I don't want the game to look unappealing.

I do not want my art style to be based on 100% anatomically correct photographs as that would be artistically restraining and be very tedious to cross-reference.

The many colours in the human body make for a very cartoony aesthetic. Therefore, my game will be based on an art style similar to the game Bud Tucker in Double Trouble.

All of my designs will be as anatomically correct as my cartoony style will allow. This defines my game's 'beauty'.


Inherent Interest and tone


My game's tone will NOT be serious. It will be lighthearted, but not 'childish' or silly. It has an element of 'this condition is serious, but you CAN beat it.'

Most of the Inherent Interest questions don't really apply to my game, as the idea is very original.


Projection and in-depth game questions


Players will be familiar to the side-scrolling and bullet hell aesthetic.


This will interest people who are studying the human body or those who are just interested in the body itself.

This game was never meant to be educational, but it turned out that way.

Some people may be familiar with the designs of the viruses and the different parts of the human body.

I will have to implement a dialogue string to make the game the game a bit less 'quiet' and lonely.

The organs, viruses, bacterium and other bodily fluids could speak.

However, players may want to visit the brain as there is the most potential for adventure there.

It would also be quite artistically liberating as nobody can really dictate what the brain looks like inside, other than a maze of pink material.


10/12/2018

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Three Lenses - 07/12/2018

All original writing can be found from pages 20-22 in the black sketchbook. The 'Three Lenses' were originally coined by Jesse N. Schell, a highly esteemed American video game designer, author, and t

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page