top of page
  • L D Neal

The Three Lenses - 07/12/2018

Updated: Jan 11, 2019

All original writing can be found from pages 20-22 in the black sketchbook.


The 'Three Lenses' were originally coined by Jesse N. Schell, a highly esteemed American video game designer, author, and the CEO of Schell Games. They are used as a refining tool in games design and game idea ideation in order to cut a game down clearly to its core principals.

Our introduction to the Three Lenses began on the 15/10/2018. They are as follows: the Lens of Beauty, the Lens of Inherent Interest and finally, the Lens of Projection. Alongside each Lens was a set of questions which we were required to answer to put our games through each Lens. When this had been done correctly, the result would be a clearer, more defined idea of our games.


For me, this process could not begin until my game idea was solid and functioning, hence why I finally used the Lenses so late into the project.


(Finally) Putting My Game Through the Three Lenses

Now that I have a solid game idea, it is time to put it through the Three Lenses of Beauty, Inherent Interest and Projection.


Beauty:

  • My game is not altogether about beauty, but it does play a fairly important role in the grand scheme of things. For example, I don't want it to look unappealing to my players.

  • The interior of a human body is not what anybody would call 'beautiful'.

  • I don't want to base my entire art style on 100% anatomically correct photographs as that would take some of my artistic freedom away and generally be very tedious to cross-reference.

  • I would say he interior of the human body (as an anatomical aesthetic) is generally nasty to look at, but there are a variety of colours, matching a cartoon aesthetic. Therefore, my style will be semi-cartoony (which is a terrible way to describe it)

  • This is a game which matches the intended aesthetic.

How can I make each element more beautiful?

In the context of matching the intended aesthetic, I will try to make each asset, piece of level design and character as close to the anatomy as my cartoony style will allow.


What elements of my game must be combined if they are to be beautiful?

N/A


What is beauty in the context of my game?

If it looks like what it is meant to, then it is beautiful. (i.e. If Staphylococcus looks like Staphylococcus, or it can be clearly recognised)



Inherent Interest:


What aspect of game will catch the player's attention immediately?

The story of the man character, who has been in a coma for so long. The player will wonder what has happened.

The tone of the game, which will not be serious; more lighthearted and mildly optimistic.


Does my game let my player do something they will have never done before?

Yes, is the short answer. I don't think anybody has travelled around in another body before as an ethereal being.

In terms of games, I can't think of another game which allows you to do what my game allows.

However, I can think of some media that explores this theme:

  • The Magic School Bus Inside the Human Body

  • Ozzy and Drix (TV Show)

What are my game's base instincts?


What are my game's higher instincts?


Does dramatic change happen?

Not that I can recall. However, when all of the viruses are defeated, I plan to make the background colour change from dark greens and browns to beige, as well as other colours to a brighter environment, representing wellness.



Projection:


Do my players get to do something that they'd like to do in real life but can't? - (10/12/2018)

I can't really think about any activity in real life that allows a person to travel around the interior of a human body, or become the Spirit of another person. The closest thing I can think of is actually learning how to combat real-life illnesses.


What can my players relate to?

The familiar side-scrolling aesthetic of the game, as well as the bullet hell mechanic. If they are familiar with how the human body fights off illnesses, then it will be an educational reminder, or learning tool.

They can also relate to human anatomy and what each part of the body does. Designs of each of the viruses and bacteria. The 'boss fight' element of the game, typically prevalent in bullet hell games.


Are there any characters my players would like to meet?

I was thinking about making the different parts of the body sentient by themselves, otherwise the game would be quite lonely, if devoid of dialogue. The viruses and bacterium could talk, of course, making for a more lighthearted tone.


Are there places my players would like to visit in my game?

So far, my game seems like it would appeal to people interested in studying the human body. However, it is a gamified version, so it may appeal to others who like adventure games. To the audience interested in the human body, I think that they would want to visit as many places in the body's interior as they can.

If my game branched out beyond mere prototype stage, then I would include illnesses from all over the body, non-fatal if treated quickly, of course!

The players may want to visit other places such as the heart, liver, brain and kidneys, most notably the brain as there is the most potential for adventure there. The brain is unpredictable and therefore lets forth a tide of possibilities for level ideas.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Three Lenses: Post-Lens Results - 10/12/2018

Original writing can be found on page 22 of the black sketchbook. What I learned/discovered from putting my game through the Three Lenses, and how my idea was refined. Beauty and art direction/level d

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page