top of page
Search
  • Laura. D. Neal

Native American Character Design (21/02/2020)

As a character designer, I work best when I can first research into a character I am meant to be designing, and then make a rough 'design document' for them, which usually takes the form of a basic list of specifications that I want that character to have. These 'design documents' can get more elaborate, going on to detail what their dominant hand is or what colour their eyes are, but I was only required to make a rough document for my Native American character, the specifications of which stemmed from the research I conducted. This research can be found on another post.

However, as was the case with all my game characters, I was also required to write a backstory. The research I went into would also help with this, and this is the reason why the specifications go into further details like the character's occupation.


From this list, I will design my Native American character.


The physical version of this list can be found on page 15 of the black sketchbook.


---

Native American Character Design


Specifications:


  • Occupation: Trader for a general store, travels cross-state and county

  • Long hair (at least beyond collar) braids near neck

  • Mocha-coloured skin

  • Bare arms

  • Their clothes would have been made of twined sagebrush bark with robes typically made of rabbit furs

  • Hunting knife on body or belt

  • Gunbelt held up loosely, lack of gun experience

  • Rabbit's foot necklace

  • Still carries bow, more experience with that (fights with it?)

  • Young man in his 20s


Reference: Charles Smith from Red Dead Redemption II


  • Wears culturally correct clothing but is more used to the life of the white man (shirt, rudimentary jacket)

  • Trader's belt to hold tools and plant life, like a leather tool belt

  • Rabbit furs

  • Jacket (brown) made from buffalo leather

  • Eagle feather

  • Loose-fitting shirt

  • Snake design somewhere

  • Belt beige in colour

  • Snake fang necklace

  • Beads


Names:

'Hoagande' - 'Warrior'

Sidewinder



21/02/2020

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page