top of page
Search
  • Laura. D. Neal

Icons and Icon Design (27/02/2020)

"When referencing the characters in the game, I plan to use personalised icons for each of them as shorthand for the players. This means I don’t have to use the full-body character designs every time.

These icons will most probably be used on the back of cards respective of the characters, for example each character card will have an icon referencing that character on them."


This has been taken from my game project proposal document, and is the best description for the use of 'icons' in my game. Every character will have one icon representing them, and will be used as shorthand for them instead of using full-body character designs on cards. The ultimate use for icons is to save space on a card.


To split the work for this task evenly, my teammate and I decided to make three icons each. I would make the icons for the gambler, gunslinger and Native American and Archie would make the icons for the cowgirl, Cavalry sergeant and prospector.


The text underneath has been taken from my black sketchbook, and all physical work on this subject can be found on pages 18 and 19: ---


Sketchbook page 18

Instead of putting each character design on every card that references them, my teammate and I are creating icons which represent each character.

These icons will be used on every card which references a character, or on the back.


When designing icons, my teammate and I had to put certain things into consideration:


The characters icons MUST represent them fully, the design stemming from their backstory and overall personality.

They also must be simple and well-coloured.


To create an icon for any character, the core of the design comes from the characters backstory. First, the backstory must be fully read and studied, and secondly, a simple design must stem out from this.

For example Virgil, who is both an alcoholic and a Cavalry sergeant, has a sword (sabre) lying next to a half-finished bottle of whiskey.


ICON DESIGN FOR GABRIELLE, THE GAMBLER - Professional gambler

- Wealthy (very) expensive clothing, jewellery

- Family business of whiskey distillery (Aquinas)

- Relaxed lifestyle

- Poker, blackjack etc. Faro

- Riverboat

- High-class


There are some illustrations I have made to support this brainstorm in my sketchbook, which can be seen on the photographs below:


Sketchbook page 19



27/02/2020

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page