top of page
Search
  • Laura. D. Neal

Challenges of Making '1st, 2nd and 3rd Place' Cards (12/05/2020)

Formatting the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place cards was also a challenge.

Firstly, I had to write 18 descriptions for each card, (6 for 1st place, 6 for 2nd and 6 for 3rd) and, even when I tried to make a reverse card design, I realised that the cards themselves are quite small and leave little space to write any in-depth descriptions. This annoyed me, as I like to tell vast, expansive stories and would have to try to do it in much fewer words.


From trying to format the 1st place card for the Native American, I learned that I could fit about 160 words on each card if the font size was 12. I would then have to write these descriptions in 160 words or less. I would have to rewrite what I already had to a limit of 160 words.


The actual background designs would get more and more 'damaged' depending on which card type it is (for example, 1st place cards would be the cleanest and most untarnished)


To save space, the action in the descriptions needed to be written in medias res.


After that, I realised that I had to cut the word count down by another 20 words, because there just wasn't enough space on the cards to write a long piece.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page