top of page
  • L. D. Neal

Week 8: My American Frontier Character Classes Lists (20/11/2019)

Updated: Dec 6, 2019

All physical work on this topic can be found on page 6 of the black sketchbook, and page 6 of the black backlog.


Sketchbook (page 6)


Western Classes List


Here is a list of characters one would find in a typical American frontier town. I have divided them into morally 'good', 'grey' and 'bad' or 'evil' classes, in the style of Dungeons & Dragons.

However, most characters listed can be any class they choose, so these morality complexes are not set in stone. It is important to remember this. I have categorised them so according to my own research.

This list was originally going to be used for a Western-themed Dungeons & Dragons campaign I was going to create, but I felt it more useful to use them for a game design.


The original list can be found in the purple 'personal design documents' folder.

Some have been added since.


Morally 'Good' Classes

  • Blacksmith

  • Gunsmith

  • Doctor

  • Surgeon

  • General store owner

  • Ranch hand

  • Bartender

  • Railway builder/layer

  • Schoolmistress

  • Cavalry General

  • Preacher

  • Bank teller

  • Marshal

  • Marshal's deputy

  • Farmer

  • Livery hand

  • Hotel owner

  • Hotel worker/Maid

  • Train ticket salesman

  • Train conductor

  • Train driver

  • Undertaker

  • Telegraph worker

  • Tailor

  • Butcher

  • Stagecoach driver

  • Assay office worker


Morally 'Grey' Classes

  • Cowboy

  • Sheriff

  • Sheriff's deputy

  • Gunslinger

  • Railway foreman

  • Mayor

  • Ex-Cavalry soldier

  • American Indian Sioux

  • American Indian Mohican

  • American Indian Chieftain

  • Prospector

  • Prostitute

  • Drifter

  • Ex-Confederate soldier

  • Outlaw

  • Cavalry Officer

  • Judge

  • Gambler

  • Hunter

  • Trapper

Morally 'Evil' Classes

  • Desperado

  • Miner

  • General gang member

  • Estate Baron/Baroness

  • Convict

  • Bandit

Some towns would be too small to have all of these amenities.

Most 'good' classes are that way because they have no motivation to be bad, they just offer goods and services



Backlog (page 6)


Western Classes List:

READ DESCRIPTION IN BOOK (Page 6)


PREFACE:

Since I did not have a sketchbook previously during the first few weeks of year 3, I was putting all my work down on my computer. Unfortunately this meant that all my work could only be found on my computer and couldn't be exhibited easily or readily, making my work flow and progress difficult to explain.

I decided that, at long last, I needed a sketchbook to demonstrate my research, sketches, game ideas, testing notes and other miscellaneous points of interest with no more more need to note things down digitally.

I also believe that this method of working is better for me personally as it has always worked for me in the past. I am very familiar with it and it works better for my brain to process.

Everything up until this point has either been put on a Word document or a PowerPoint presentation, including all my university research, my Western classes list and my current game ideas, which I am currently in the process of putting in my sketchbook.


Western classes list:


This list was originally going to be used for a Western-themed Dungeons & Dragons campaign I was going to create, but I felt it more useful to use the list for game design and a stats system.


READ DESCRIPTION IN BOOK (Page 6)


Since this list was written up again for this project in Microsoft Word professionally and unavailable to be viewed unless printed out, I decided to write an improved version by hand in my sketchbook, to demonstrate what research and work I had done before.

I divided the characters into morally 'good', 'grey' and 'evil' classes, in the style of Dungeons & Dragons.

This list should prove useful when designing characters for the game, as I already have a set list to choose from.

Each character could have a specific set of stats to counteract each other, if these characters were players.




Phase 3 End of Week 8 Week 6: 04/11/2019 - 10/11/2019

Week 7: 11/11/2019 - 17/11/2019

Week 8: 18/11/2019 - 24/11/2019

Week 9: 25/11/2019 - 01/12/2019

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page