top of page
  • L. D. Neal

Week 8: Game Ideas and Feedback (22/11/2019)

All physical work on this topic can be found on page 11 of the black sketchbook, and page 5 of the black backlog.


Sketchbook (page 11)


Game ideas


Idea #1:


"I was considering making an adventure-based (Western) card or board game but people in the chat were discussing management games, which I like...

I once made a list of character classes and I think that (the list) that would come in useful there."


Feedback:


I received feedback from one member of my class saying that management games in particular are quite mundane and unimaginative for the kinds of games that I normally like to produce. I can agree that they were not my first choice, and that they probably won't be my main choice either.


Other feedback: (from the interactive online tool)

  • Strategy game

  • A game where you build towns or communities using law and order to set difficulty

  • An 'expanding borders' game as befits the American frontier, having a small space and attempting to increase this

  • A house building game

  • Resource management system

  • Papers Please-type game searching for criminals on wanted posters

  • A game where you play as a Western doctor to showcase the healthcare and medicine of the time

  • A town building/tycoon game

  • Focus on the strategy elements of the subject you have studied

  • Management game where you control and maintain a town or a small group of people

  • Consider the Space Western subgenre

  • A game countering the misconceptions about the American frontier

  • A game focusing on the 'Manifest Destiny' style of expansion

  • A game that puts out the truth about the time and make a community-based game which shows the actual struggle of the townsfolk

  • Management game where you try to find water or manage a town as a sheriff

  • Crime mystery


Backlog (page 5)


Game ideas


The whole reason why I got this sketchbook was to note down and visually explore my game ideas.

I started noting these down here, on this page, as it was overdue and needed to be laid out.

I have also put down the feedback from Friday's presentation.




22/11/2019

Phase 3

Week 6: 04/11/2019 - 10/11/2019

Week 7: 11/11/2019 - 17/11/2019

Week 8: 18/11/2019 - 24/11/2019

Week 9: 25/11/2019 - 01/12/2019

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Phase 4: Further Developing My Game Idea (10/12/2019)

Preface: This piece of work was created after I had a very long discussion about developing my main game idea with one of my lecturers. I had been planning to talk to him about this issue for some tim

bottom of page