top of page
  • L. D. Neal

Week 8: Enter the Sketchbook (18/11/2019) and Backlog (22/11/2019)

As I mentioned before, I did not do much work on Phase 3 during its first half. This was because it was reading week, (week 7) and I was taking a much-needed break from work in the free time. I cannot remember what else happened, so this is as much as I can write about it.

However, I soon realised that I was running out of time to actually create some solid work, and to do that properly I was in dire need of both a sketchbook and a backlog.


The sketchbook


The sketchbook was initiated first, on Monday the 18th of November 2019, right at the beginning of week 8. I have always worked better in sketchbooks rather than digitally, simply because I have always done it this way. I don't need to access a computer to search up my notes or write new ones down. I was pushed to get a sketchbook because I really felt that I needed to get some research done on other Western-themed board games, as well as some other things related to the year.

With a sketchbook, everything is right there, in front of me, and I can write my thoughts at a moment's notice, making for more reliable account of what happened. For the majority of this year, I have been working somewhat digitally, and this was not preferable at all since I couldn't really review my work.

I should really have gotten a sketchbook sooner, but for some reason I hesitated. This is why all my sketchbook work starts from such a late phase.


The backlog


Year 2 was, by far, my favourite year in games design and art at the Winchester School of Art. Although it was certainly the most challenging, it was the most enjoyable and rewarding by the end. I loved it so much, I didn't want it to end. I learned skills I never thought I could manage, such as creating good digital art and even making two walk-cycle animations. I was the lead character designer (my chosen craft) in a fantastic team, and together we created a fully-working vertical slice with no argument or disagreement throughout the year.

But the main reason why it was so rewarding was because I kept a full backlog of my work throughout the entirety of semester 2, when we were working on the vertical slice. Whatever I put into my backlog, I put onto my blog afterwards.

This backlog saved my life; keeping a record of every single thing I did throughout that time. This meant I didn't forget anything I had done, and could talk about my design and thought processes. There was no room for error, and although it can be downright torture constantly writing in and cross-referencing everything I have done, it really is worth it by the end.


This was my plan for this year, to keep another backlog and do the same exact thing as last year, since it works so well. However, I didn't get one from the outset of Phase 1 because I didn't expect us to be backlogging so soon in the year. This is why my backlog actually starts from the 22nd of November, rather than the 30th of September 2019.

Quoted from the backlog itself:


"This is my year 3, semester 1 backlog. Its use is vital in remembering what went on on certain days, what work I did and I can use it effectively to recount and write up what I have done on my blog. This final reason is the main reason I got it, just like last year.

This backlog should have been initiated sooner, but a misunderstanding mean that it has been initiated on the 22nd of November 2019, near the end of week 8. I deeply regret this."


This can be found on page 0 of the black sketchbook.


Although the backlog was initiated after the sketchbook, I did manage to remember most of what had gone on with my work between the 18th and the 22nd, and so I logged those accounts at a date before I acquired the backlog. This is quite difficult to explain, but it makes sense if you look into first two pages of my backlog.

Here are some personal notes on this subject, taken from page 1 of the backlog:


"18/11/2019

First Backlog Entry, Written on the 22nd of November 2019


Please note: The following writing has been backlogged on a different day to the date written here. This is due to a misunderstanding of when work has to be done by in the course and due to personal issues.


18/11/2019 (Monday) (Week 8)


Sketchbook initiated. Outlines and guidelines set up in said sketchbook.

Notes about work were taken down in the book, and pages were numbered.

Details written down on page 0.

Project was outlined in written form on page 1 (of sketchbook)"


Every other piece of work from this point forward was taken down in the backlog on the correct day.

Once I had both of these 'documents', I really felt like my work was taking more structure and form, and I felt much, much more confident and organised.




Phase 3, Week 8

Week 6: 04/11/2019 - 10/11/2019

Week 7: 11/11/2019 - 17/11/2019

Week 8: 18/11/2019 - 24/11/2019

Week 9: 25/11/2019 - 01/12/2019

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page